I’m actually posting… what??? Yes, I know, I haven’t posted in a while, and I’m sorry. I’ve just been so busy, and I’m afraid my life is just going to be getting busier for the next few years. I’ll just be posting when I can and you guys are going to have to deal with it. (Sorry!)

I thought I would do this tag since it’s almost fall and fall is Harry Potter season (not that every season isn’t Harry Potter season), and also it just seems fun. 🙂


flagrate

thehazelwood

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert. I heard so many good things about this book, but it was honestly disappointing. I liked the ideas, but I thought the writing was bland.

alohomora

cinder

To say something other than Harry Potter… I would have to say Cinder by Marissa Meyer. This book was amazing and definitely made me decide to read the rest of the Lunar Chronicles series, which was also amazing.

accio

I have to pick two for this one; What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, and Archenemies by Marissa Meyer. Both these books come out in the fall, but I NEED TO READ THEM RIGHT NOW!

avada-kedavra

theshipofthedead.jpg

The Ship of the Dead by Rick Riordan is the third book in the series Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard and there are just SO MANY GOOD THINGS ABOUT IT AHHHH.

confundo

thecursedchild.jpg

I felt a lot of emotions while reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne, and confused was definitely one of them.

expectopatronum1

fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (although also a little Simon from Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda). Who doesn’t relate to this book?

sectumsempra

adropofnight

This made me think at first of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, but I think A Drop of Night by Stephen Bachmann is a better option; it’s definitely more twisted.

expectopatronum2

rainbowmagic

I read so many Rainbow Magic books when I was little. They inspired so much creativeness and led me to wear sparkles to attract fairies. I loved these books so much! I will say, though, that once I got older, I realised that all Daisy Meadows’ books are the same story with the fairies’ names changed.

expelliarmus

thesunisalsoastar.jpg

I actually didn’t like Everything, Everything as much as everyone else seemed to, so I didn’t have high hopes for The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon, but I actually loved it so much!

prior-incantato

thesonofneptune.jpg

Don’t worry, I have already read this book! I was reading it for the second because I read it so long ago, haha.

riddikulus

simonvsthehomosapiensagenda.jpg

I don’t really read humorous books, but Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli is so relatable it makes me laugh. I also thought of Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan.

sonorus

illgiveyouthesun.jpg

A lot of awesome books I would have told you about a couple years ago have gained a lot of fame recently (The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs), so I’m going to say I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. It was just really good and different than other contemporary books I’ve read.

obliviate

thehalfbloodprince.jpg

SPOILER ALERT! (Even though everybody should have read Harry Potter now, you Muggles.) I overheard my mom reading part of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling to my brother when I was little. Unfortunately, it was the part when Dumbledore dies.

imperio

anthem.jpg

We had to read Anthem by Ayn Rand for my grade 11 English class. I thought it was actually pretty interesting, and I like reading for school; I like being exposed to different kinds of books and being forced to read classics, because I probably never will on my own time.

crucio

swimthefly

Swim the Fly by Don Calame was another book I had to read for English class, but in grade 9. And let me tell you, the story was for 10th graders but the writing was for 7th graders. It was full of second-hand embarrassment, and I did not enjoy one second of it. History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera is another good one for this spell, but it was painful in a good way. I mean, not good, sad, but IT WAS SO GOOD ANYWAY! Just go read my review of it.


So, that was fun! Let me know if you have any comments about my choices, and tell me which book was a painful read for you! I have links to my social media, Goodreads, and fan fiction on my blog, so please check them out! Until next time! (Wow, that was a lot of exclamation points, oops!)

embed

Leave a comment